# 51 Ball Gown/Prom Dress – modern

This is done with two saris. I would get two that don’t have much border. That way if the borders don’t match or compliment each other then you can hide them pretty easily. But if you happen to get two saris with matching borders you might like to show them off. Also a lighter weight fabric is better for the top as it won’t be bunchy after being wound around you so many times.

The skirt part is done like #21 skirt style, but over a net or hoop skirt and starting with the palluΒ  end so it is hidden. Of course if you want to show it you are very welcome to. You can make the skirt as big as you’d like or as small, it just depends on the petticoat you have.

The top part is pinned at the waist and then wrapped as tightly as you can as you move up your torso. In this video I do a halter top but you could do a one shoulder or a strapless too. The length of the tail at the back depends on how long of a sari you start with.

Of course you should wear the appropriate bra and not a couple of tank tops underneath πŸ˜›

Have fun, experiment, be creative !

IMG_1363 IMG_1365 IMG_1362 IMG_1353 IMG_1346

7 Comments Add yours

  1. SarahF says:

    I love this! I’m still struggling with getting the bodice-section to lay as beautifully as you have. I also need to play around with different straps/necklines. Thanks for sharing!

    1. Dasi says:

      It took me a while too. Just pull really tight and try to fold it not just bunch it up. Good luck πŸ™‚

  2. Vibha says:

    I loved this Dasi. But only thing I am not able to find the hoop skirt or net skirt here in Bangalore. I am sure I could find it where ballet dancers shop for their tutu.

    1. Dasi says:

      Have you tried looking on the internet? places like Etsy.com would have them.

  3. Vibha says:

    Hey Dasi,
    Found this cocktail dress drape from a saree. It would be a great addition to your wearasari.
    To Wear Your Saree As A Cocktail Dress: http://youtu.be/-qQBXiAK0eE

    1. Dasi says:

      Awesome πŸ™‚ thanks for the link I’ll add it to my site. I was in need of more modern drapes. I’ve got enough traditional drapes to finish off the site, but i wanted more modern ones. Also sorry i haven’t added anything recently I’ve had a lot of changes in my life and I’m trying to get settled again. So i appreciate any help πŸ™‚

      1. Vibha says:

        Definitely, shall let you know if I find any. Also the link which I had sent Glamis. Com on youtube keep innovating new drapes in modern way. You might find another video of draping a saree on a tights.

Leave a Reply

