#20 Skirt style – traditional

I’m pretty sure it was traditional to wear a sari as a skirt so I’m marking this one traditional. If you know different let  me know. You can wear this with a dupatta or put on a tank top or t-shirt. Or if it’s a really fancy sari you can put on a fancy matching top for an elegant evening style.

So below is how I do the skirt style. I have two different versions in this video. They aren’t that much different but I think the 2nd one makes a fuller skirt.

In the first version I put two pleats, one over each hip, in the beginning. This helps if you have a really full slip. You can skip it if you just have a normal sari slip. In both versions I also go around more than once and my pleats are not very even. I find that it isn’t such a big deal though because it still looks great IMHOP. I’m not a perfectionist, though sometimes it might be good if I was.

However if you prefer only going around once with all the pleats then make them really close together. You can also use up a lot of fabric by making them really big and kind of stacking them as you go.

The sari used in this video is a Narayanpet hand-loom. The pallus of these ones tend to get scrunched up in my washing machine, and I don’t have much time for ironing. I think it gives the thing even more character, and also the two level effect in the video. Yes I don’t hand wash all my saris… I hope I haven’t horrified anyone.

IMG_1481

9 Comments Add yours

  1. phr says:

    Hi can you do a video on the Skirt Style….the first video starts in the middle of her doing it, and she also goes too fast. I like your videos better because you are more thorough….and I can’t find anything at all on Google re: this style. I have a lot of saris that I’d like to wear as skirts. Thanks and love this site!

    1. Dasi says:

      Sure. No problem 🙂
      I’m glad you like my blog.
      I will try to post it on Tuesday.

    2. Dasi says:

      I have updated the Skirt style post. So you can find my video there. I hope it helps you. -Dasi

  2. phr says:

    Thank you!!! Keep up the good work!

  3. ruby shekhar says:

    I am organizing a sari walk for a national day celebration. I am using information from your blog for different types of draping. well compiled information

    1. Dasi says:

      Cool! Do you have a website or something that will have pictures? I’d love to see pictures 🙂

  4. Chhavi Methi says:

    Is lehanga a version of Saree ? Please help

    1. Dasi says:

      No. Sarees can be two piece or one piece but the saree itself is never stitched. There are some pre-stitched sarees but IMO they are not real sarees. A Lehanga is a skirt, top and dupatta as far as I know but I do not know much about them. Here is the wikipedia definition: “The word sari is derived from Sanskrit शाटी śāṭī[8] which means ‘strip of cloth'[9] and शाडी śāḍī or साडी sāḍī in Prakrit, and which was corrupted to sāṛī in Hindi.[10]”
      So if it is no longer a strip of cloth its not a saree. I hope this was helpful 🙂

      1. Chhavi Methi says:

        Yeah pretty much , but read somewhere that tribal ladies found it difficult to wear Sarees at work , so they wore skirts & the the dupatta r is an unstitched fabric , it was known as short Saree or dedh patti saree

Leave a Reply

