#16 Dancing Sari – traditional

I don’t really know what this drape is called. The video is titled Odissi but I’ve seen Bharatanatyam dancers wear it too. So I’m calling it the dancing sari. It would also be great for riding a bike or mucking around in the garden or forest. Its short and fun!

The video is in Chinese I think.

I suppose I could have folded my sari over a bit more so it would be shorter.

IMG_1417

13 Comments Add yours

    1. Dasi says:

      Thanks πŸ™‚

  1. Catie says:

    Yup, it’s in Chinese. I think this might be the drape in the Life of Pi film worn by students in a dance class, though in the film I don’t see the folded over part so it might’ve been folded over on the inside to hid the border. I could be wrong.

    P.S. I love the Sari you’re wearing.

    1. Dasi says:

      Thanks for the info πŸ™‚
      I haven’t seen Life of Pi yet. I’ll have to check it out.
      Thank-you its one of my favorite Saris I have had it forever.

      1. Tracy says:

        Thank you for this nice website that I can learn more different styles from it πŸ™‚
        I’m an Odissi dance
        It’s the practicing dress for some types of classical classes, especially for the south and east
        I also don’t know if there is a name of it or not
        In my school we usually just say practicing saree

        The normal Nivi style is too long for the dances with a lot of sitting poses like odissi, bharatanatyam, kuchipudi…… so we fold to make it shorter with the leg-in
        It’s for showing the footsteps and the safety
        Odissi dancers usually like to keep the end part of pallu outside like you do and Bharatanatyam dancers like to hide it
        I usually keep the end part longer that I can use it wiping the sweats easily (most of us doing it a lot in class)

        The dance in “Life of Pi” is bharatanatyam
        It’s very common that dancers wear the practicing sarees which are originally not that tall as usual (especially in the south) ……..that’s the reason you don’t see the folded over part
        It’s very convenient for we dancers……just to wear the nivi style normally and the length is perfect for dancing πŸ™‚

      2. Dasi says:

        I’m glad you like the site πŸ™‚

      3. Tracy says:

        BTW, I never use more than 2 pins…. πŸ˜›
        I usually use one on the shoulder and the other one on the lower left of upper body
        And we make the shoulder part more narrow for showing the poses and having more flexibility

      4. Dasi says:

        Thank you very much for all the useful info. πŸ™‚

  2. So glad you are following me. I will follow you. Namaste, Ellen

  3. SIVA says:

    CAN ANY ONE SHARE HOW TO DO MALE DRESSING FOR BHARATANATYAM WITH SAREE

  4. Uma says:

    Very nice. I was looking for this and finally i got it. Thank you so much. Can you tell how to wear bharatnatyam dress in pant style?

    1. Dasi says:

      I have a few pants style saris on here already, but I don’t think they are what you are talking about. I will look into it.

Leave a Reply

